↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Puma (Tdci) > Handbrake cable removal.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
MarkR

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Cairns Blue
Handbrake cable removal.
Hi guys, first post so be gentle. My wife mentioned that there was a problem with the handbrake, so upon investigation I think the cable has snapped at the drum end. I have a new handbrake cable on order, and I have a mind to fit it myself. Is this within the realms of a tinkerer? I believe I need to remove the prop shaft to get at the cable, and I'm a little nervous of doing this. I just need a little encouragement, and or pictures.....I have a workshop disc for the puma, and I have printed off the bit about replacement handbrake cable, but I found it a little vague, for me at least. When I attempt this I will make sure I take lots of photos, but if anyone can help talk me through it that would be great also. I'm a cabinetmaker by trade, so woodwork is more my thing and not the metal bits.
Post #376093 3rd Dec 2014 3:59pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
bga86

2015 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 HT Fuji White
Don't be worried about it mark it's an easy job! First off is to remove the prop then take the hand brake drum off, personally I always remove the hand brake back plate with shoes etc and do the job in a vice. Undo the 4x15mm bolts on the back plate and it will come off. Don't forget to remove the cable from the hand brake, pull the rubber boot off, take the split pin out of the roll pin and push the cable free. To push it back through the seat box you may need to tap it with a screw driver and a hammer. Refitting is reverse of removal. Hard to explain but if you have a workshop manual you will not go far wrong Thumbs Up
Post #376434 4th Dec 2014 8:36pm
K9F

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Stornoway Grey