↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Modifications & Maintenance (L663) > Mirror Clearsight retrofit
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 5 of 6 <123456>
Print this entire topic · 
mmbanf

Italy 
Hi and Goodmorning,
pin 7 and 8 as you can see in the diagram are not connected on defender, since the hardware is common to many Land Rovers, it could refer to other functions that we do not have.

Marco
Post #1026577 2nd Mar 2024 2:19pm
Jnhconsulting93

France 
Ah ok Big Thank u marco for your feedback. 🙏🙏🙏I worry the retrofit it’s not compatible now i sure it’s ok. Just modified on hardware.. one thousand thank you marco for the tutorial…
Post #1026578 2nd Mar 2024 2:22pm
ThunderBob

United States 
Retro Fitted Clearsight Mirror Today
After studying Marco’s (mmbaf) guide and getting all the required part numbers from Ian (Hairy Dan) I assembled all the required parts and cables. I studied the videos from Powerful UK and decided today was the day. It as an easy project! First I removed the rear view mirror. Always a little scary the first time you do it. But it came off without a hitch. Next I removed the roof lights console, one of the back seat courtesy lights, and finally the rear trim piece at the tailgate so that I could get access to the antenna. I fed the Land Rover repair cable through the light console to the mirror opening (I fed it from the side of the console and it curved over to the mirror opening quite nicely). I then attached the 3 meter aerial extension cable to an electrician’s “fish” tape and sent it to the courtesy light opening from the rear of the vehicle. I pulled the cable out of the courtesy light hole enough to remove the fish tape. I then inserted the fish tape through the roof light console opening towards the courtesy light opening. I attached the extension cable to the fish and then pulled it back to the roof light console. I connected it the Land Rover repair cable. I went back to the rear of the vehicle and began removing the existing antenna. This w